Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University courses offered

Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University (ATBU) is renowned for its diverse range of academic programs, offering students a wide array of choices for their educational pursuits.

In this blog post, we present a comprehensive list of courses offered at ATBU, providing valuable insights into the various fields of study available at the university.

  1. Faculty of Agriculture and Agricultural Technology:
  • Agricultural Economics and Extension
  • Animal Production
  • Crop Production
  • Fisheries and Aquaculture
  • Forestry and Wildlife Management
  • Soil Science
  1. Faculty of Engineering and Engineering Technology:
  • Agricultural Engineering
  • Automobile Engineering
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Computer and Communication Engineering
  • Electrical/Electronics Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Mechatronics Engineering
  • Petroleum Engineering
  1. Faculty of Environmental Technology:
  • Architecture
  • Building
  • Environmental Management Technology
  • Estate Management and Valuation
  • Industrial Design
  • Quantity Surveying
  • Surveying and Geoinformatics
  • Urban and Regional Planning
  1. Faculty of Management Technology:
  • Accounting
  • Banking and Finance
  • Business Management
  • Technology and Entrepreneurship
  1. Faculty of Science:
  • Applied Botany
  • Applied Geology
  • Applied Zoology
  • Biochemistry
  • Biological Science
  • Chemistry
  • Computer Science
  • Ecology
  • Geophysics
  • Industrial Chemistry
  • Mathematics
  • Microbiology
  • Physics
  • Statistics

Please note that this list may be subject to change as ATBU periodically reviews and updates its course offerings. It is advisable to refer to the official ATBU website or contact the university’s admissions office for the most up-to-date information on available courses.

Q1: How many faculties are there at Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University (ATBU)?

A1: ATBU has several faculties that offer a wide range of academic programs. The university currently consists of the following faculties: Faculty of Agriculture and Agricultural Technology, Faculty of Engineering and Engineering Technology, Faculty of Environmental Technology, Faculty of Management Technology, and Faculty of Science. Each faculty offers different courses and programs to cater to diverse interests and career paths.

Q2: What are some of the popular courses offered at ATBU?

A2: ATBU offers a variety of popular courses across different faculties. Some of the popular courses include:
– Engineering programs such as Civil Engineering, Electrical/Electronics Engineering, and Mechanical Engineering.
– Computer Science and Computer Engineering.
– Architecture and Urban and Regional Planning.
– Accounting and Banking and Finance.
– Biochemistry, Microbiology, and other science-related programs.

These courses are in high demand due to their relevance to industries and career prospects. However, ATBU offers a wide range of courses across various fields to cater to different interests and aspirations.

Q3: Can I switch between courses at ATBU?

A3: ATBU allows students to switch courses, but it is subject to certain conditions and requirements. Students interested in switching courses within the university should consult the academic department or faculty offering the desired program to inquire about the specific procedures and any eligibility criteria. It’s important to note that switching courses may have implications for the duration of study and credit transfer.


Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University offers a diverse range of academic programs across various faculties, providing students with numerous opportunities to pursue their educational and career aspirations. With this comprehensive list of courses offered at ATBU, you can explore the different fields of study available and make informed decisions regarding your academic journey.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button